top of page
A photo of Sophie French Tutor. She has shoulder length brown hair ans she is smiling.

My name is Sophie, I am from Paris. I've been living in Melbourne for 12 years, and had been teaching French full time for two years before I took a short break to enjoy life as a mum. I have been teaching again for the past six years. I enjoy sharing my native language and culture, giving tips to travelers and, above all, witness my students progress and get more and more confident.


I enjoy spending time with my son, living in Melbourne, being outdoors and gardening, Sci-fi, Fantasy and Zombies, Rock music, knitting and crochet, cooking, talking about the weather.


I studied literature, languages, sociology and hospitality management, back in Paris. In the past years, I have been following various workshops, short courses and MOOCs (Massive Open Online Courses) about Education, Teaching and Learning. I am passionate about the improvement of oral skills and I have trained in the "Methode Verbo-Tonale" to help my students improve their pronunciation. More about my education here.

I have a valid Victorian "Working with Children check".

About Sophie

French tutoring with Sophie


I have been tutoring French in Melbourne for the past ten years and I am experienced with many different kind of needs and learning styles. Over ten years, I have helped High-School students prepare for and take the VCE, University students feel confident for their exams, beginners learn how to speak, read and write French, travelers get ready for their trip to France, people of all level practice their conversation.

I will plan your lessons depending on your level (from true beginner to perfectly fluent, and any level in-between) your needs and personal interests, based as much as possible on real French material (articles, songs, documentaries...). I am experienced in one-on-one and small groups sessions.

I have a strong focus on oral skills (listening and speaking) and specialise in teaching pronunciation with the "Methode Verbo-Tonale". More information here.

I currently teach exclusively online, via Zoom or your preferred video-conference app.


bottom of page